Who We Are


Under our shepherd, Bishop Michael Gielen, the Catholic Diocese of Christchurch seeks to grow a community of disciples of Jesus Christ, striving to strengthen and support our communities in holiness and on mission, while proclaiming the Good News.

But we're much more than just a Church. Through the education provided by our schools, and the good works of our social services and our charities, we reach out far beyond our Church community.
Living the word of Jesus Christ, we seek to meaningfully contribute to the social fabric of Aotearoa New Zealand.

We are over 62,000 people

Who we are About Us

We are 28 Primary Schools

Jubilate 2021 14 RSZ
Jubilate 2021 40 RSZ

We are 7 Secondary Schools

We are 18 Parishes

St Marys Pro Cathedral
Cathedral Altar RSZ

We are a richly diverse, faith filled community

We are the Catholic Diocese of Christchurch, Aotearoa New Zealand

Who we are About Us Chch East

The Catholic Diocese of Christchurch was established by papal brief on 5 May 1887 with the new episcopy covering the West Coast and all of Canterbury. John Joseph Grimes SM was appointed bishop to the new See. Our diocesan patron saint is St John the Baptist.

Since then, the Diocese has flourished building a strong Catholic community, across 18 parishes, that is served by diocesan and religious priests.

We invite you to join us. We invite you to deepen your faith journey, to be active in your faith and your faith community. We invite you connect and build a lifelong relationship with Jesus Christ.

Right: The Church of the Blessed Sacrament became the pro-Cathedral on arrival of Bishop Grimes in 1887

AAA 8772 Church of the Blessed Sacrament